Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance: A Mystery by Gyles Brandreth


Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance: A MysteryOscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance: A Mystery by Gyles Brandreth

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

3.5 stars

I will wait for Jeannette, Marialyce and Dawn before post my review. However, since I always avoid spoilers in my reviews, see my review as followed.

Even if I am not a big fan of mysteries featuring real literary authors, I liked this one.

In my opinion, the author managed quite well to balance between quoting famous artists & writers with a mystery case as background.

Among the citations, we can mention some of these well known names, such as: Arthur Conan Doyle, (Sherlock Holmes, Watson), Robert Sherard, Butler Yeats, William Wordsworth, Thomas Huxley, Émile Zola, Mrs. O’Keefe (Georgia), Walter Scott, Madame Tussaud, Euripides, Plato, Madame Rostand (an old Wilde’s passion), Gustave Eiffel, Louis Pasteur, Jerome K. Jerome, Wagner, Millais, Maupassant, Baudelaire, Byron, Wordsworth, John Keats, Doré and Tenniel. Certainly, I must forgot to mention some other names.

Some interesting quotations:

Page 5:
“Life is the nightmare that prevents one from sleeping.”

Page 48:
“Science “is nothing but trained and organised common sense”, by Thomas Huxley.

Page 72:
“Fidelity is over-rated, Robert,” I heard him say. “It is loyalty that counts—and understanding.”

Page 82:
“Actors are so fortunate,” Oscar wrote to me in a letter once. “They can choose whether they appear in tragedy or in comedy, whether they will suffer or make merry, laugh or shed tears. But in real life it is different. There are no choices. All the world’s a stage, but we must play as we are cast.”

Page 107:
“This happens to be my birthday, Robert, and on each of my anniversaries I mourn the flight of one year of my youth into nothingness, the growing blight upon my summer…Tempus fugit inreparabile!”

Page 110:
“To win back my youth,” Oscar continued, unabashed, “there is nothing I would not do—except, of course, take exercise, rise early, or give up alcohol.”

Page 148:
“There is no friendship possible between men and women, Robert. Remember that. There is passion, enmity, worship, love, but no friendship.”

Page 190:
“‘Nobody ever commits a crime without doing something stupid.’”

The truth is, a poet can survive anything but a misprint—but is Oxford the place for the truth?

Page 264:
‘Women are meant to be loved, not to be understood.’”

Page 288:
“Prayers must never be answered, Robert! If prayers are answered, they cease to be prayers and become correspondence…”

Leave a Reply

