Recently Announced Award Winners 2014: updated with Pulizter Prize Fiction

Some books award winners for 2014 have been recently announced, as it follows:

The 2014 Pulitzer Prize Winners Fiction:

For distinguished fiction by an American author, preferably dealing with American life, Ten thousand dollars ($10,000). Awarded to The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt (Little, Brown), a beautifully written coming-of-age novel with exquisitely drawn characters that follows a grieving boy’s entanglement with a small famous painting that has eluded destruction, a book that stimulates the mind and touches the heart.

Finalists Also nominated as finalists in this category were The Son by Philipp Meyer (Ecco), a sweeping multi-generational novel that illuminates the violence and enterprise of the American West by tracing a Texas family’s passage from lethal frontier perils to immense oil-boom wealth; and The Woman Who Lost Her Soul by Bob Shacochis (Atlantic Monthly Press), a novel spanning 50 years and three continents that explores the murky world of American foreign policy before 9/11, using provocative themes to raise difficult moral questions.

The judges were:

Art Winslow, former literary and executive editor, The Nation and past president, National Book Critics Circle (Chair)
Ron Charles, deputy editor, The Washington Post Book World

Sabina Murray, writer and professor, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

34th Annual PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

The winner is We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler.

The four finalists for the award are:

Daniel Alarcón for his novel At Night We Walk in Circles Percival Everett for his novel Percival Everett by Virgil Russell Joan Silber for her collection of short stories Fools Valerie Trueblood for her collection of short stories Search Party: Stories of Rescue

Impac Dublin Literary Award 2014 The 2014 Shortlist has been announced: ten novels have been shortlisted – and five are in translation. Authors from Argentina, Australia, Columbia, France, Ireland, Malaysia, Netherlands, Norway, and USA.

The shortlisted titles, announced are:

1. The Detour  by Gerbrand Bakker, (Dutch) translated by David Colmer. Published by Harvill Secker.

2. Questions of Travel by Michelle De Kretser (Sri Lankan / Australian). Published by Allen & Unwin.

3. Absolution by Patrick Flanery (American) (First novel). Published by Atlantic Books.

4. A Death in the Family by Karl Ove Knausgaard (Norwegian). Translated by Don Bartlett. Published by Harvill Secker.

5. Three Strong Women by Marie NDiaye (French) Translated by John Fletcher. Published by MacLehose / Quercus and by Alfred A. Knopf.

6. Traveller of the Century by Andrés Neuman (Argentinian). Translated from the original Spanish by Nick Caistor and Lorenza Garcia. Published by Pushkin Press and by Farrar, Straus & Giroux.

7. The Light of Amsterdam by David Park (Northern Irish) Published by Bloomsbury.

8. The Spinning Heart by Donal Ryan (Irish) (First novel). Published by Doubleday Ireland / Lilliput Press.

9. The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng (Malaysian) Published by Myrmidon.

10. The Sound of Things Falling by Juan Gabriel Vásquez (Colombian). Translated from the original Spanish by Anne McLean. Published by Bloomsbury.

Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction (previously called Women’s Prize for Fiction (2013), Orange Prize for Fiction (1996–2006 & 2009–12) and Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction (2007–2008)).

The shortlisted writers are the following:

1. Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. Published by Alfred A. Knopf, Inc.

2. Burial Rites by Hannah Kent. Published by Pan Macmillan Australia

3. The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri. Published by Alfred A. Knopf, Inc.

4. The Undertaking by Audrey Magee. Published by Atlantic Books.

5. A Girl Is a Half-formed Thing by Eimear McBride. Published by Galley Beggar Press.

6. The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. Published by Little, Brown and Company


Canada Reads 2014.

The theme for 2014 is “A Novel to Change Our Nation.” The contenders were the following:

1. The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood

2. The Orenda by Joseph Boyden

3. Half-Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan

4. Cockroach by Rawi Hage

5. Annabel by Kathleen Winter

The winner is The Orenda by Joseph Boyden. Published by Hamish Hamilton.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s